Aura Colors Meaning

What is aura?

We all have an electromagnetic field of energy surrounding us, known as the aura. Psychically  the aura is perceived as a series of colors (aura colors: pink/red, blue/green, blue, mauve and yellow) and it is composed of seven interwoven rings of light. Each component represents something else:

Aura Colors Meaning

Aura Colours Representation & Explanation

First ring – physical health
Second ring – emotions
Third ring – intellect
Fourth – subconscious, especially the imagination and intuition
Fifth – Higher Self
Sixth & seventh are not visible on most people and represent advanced cosmic aspect of the soul’s energy

The aura actually reflects our physical and spiritual state and holds a record of every event that has happened to us, including past-life experiences. This electromagnetic layer can be affected when the body is fatigued, distresses or unbalanced: it can appear thin and weak when the body is ill whereas it glows brightly when we are excited and charged with energy.

What is the meaning of aura colors?

There are many schools of thought about the psychic meaning of aura colors. Some colors affect the body because of their lower frequencies, while others influence the brain due to their higher frequencies:

Green, light blue:  Restful
Red: Stimulating
Orange: Revitalizing

Turquoise, sky blue: Restful
Orange: Stimulating
Peach: Revitalizing

Indigo: Restful
Yellow: Stimulating
emerald green: Revitalizing

Blue: Restful
Violet, purple: Stimulating
Gold: Revitalizing

Each color represent a certain light frequency and can be calming or stimulating, however responses depend on many factors and environment we live in. For example men and women traditionally respond differently to colors: men tend to be attracted to the red-orange range, whereas women ten to prefer the red-violet combination. Women most definitely tend to like pink, but this is not a color chosen by most men.

Below you will find various aura colors and their generally accepted meaning:



Indigo Altered state of consciousness, integration and purification. Too much of this color leads to depression. Relates to the third eye, visual and pituitary gland. Intuitive, sensitive, deep feeling. 
Silver A high degree of psychic development. This is the color of abundance, both spiritual and physical. Lots of bright silver can reflect to plenty of money, and/or awakening of the cosmic mind.
Red This color represents pure energy, relates to the physical body, heart or circulation.
Basic Red Courage and strength,
Brick red Anger.
Crimson Loyalty.
Deep red Sensuality.
Pink Optimism and cheerfulness.
Brown This is stabilizing, earthy, grounding color.
Dull brown Low energy.
Gold Intuition and knowing. This is a very spiritual color and amplifies psychic abilities. The color of enlightenment and divine protection. When seen within the aura, it says that the person is being guided by their highest good. Protection, wisdom, inner knowledge, spiritual mind, intuitive thinker.
Purple Spiritual power. The deeper the purple, the greater the psychic significance. Purple is never a strong point in the aura. It appears only as temporary “clouds” and “flames”, indicating truly spiritual thoughts.
Violet Stimulates dream activity and psychic perception of past lives. Relates to crown, pineal gland and nervous system. The most sensitive and wisest of colors. This is the intuitive color in the aura, and reveals psychic power of attunement with self. Intuitive, visionary, futuristic, idealistic, artistic, magical.
Blue Intellectual development, creative expression, imagination, idealism. Relates to the throat, thyroid. Cool, calm, and collected. Caring, loving, love to help others, sensitive, intuitive.
Orange Optimism, vitality, joy, balance of the mental and physical. Often preferred by salespeople, speakers, promoters and media personalities. Relates to reproductive organs and emotions. The color of vitality, vigor, good health and excitement.
Yellow Mental activity, wisdom, creativity and emotions. Relates to the spleen and life energy. It is the color of awakening, inspiration, intelligence and action shared, creative, playful, optimistic, easy-going.
Yellow-grey Fear.
Green Compassion, balance, growth, ingenuity and calming effect. Relates to heart and lungs. It is a very comfortable, healthy color of nature. When seen in the aura this usually represents growth and balance, also something that leads to change. Love of people, animals, nature.
Green-grey Envy and pessimism.
Pale green Healing powers.
Black Depression and death however this is rarely seen. Can indicate long-term unforgiveness, past life hurts; unreleased grief.
White Purity and deep spirituality. White represents all the colors of the visible spectrum. Reflects other energy. A pure state of light. Often represents a new, not yet designated energy in the aura. Spiritual, etheric and non-physical qualities, transcendent, higher dimensions.